Not ready for my close-up.

Not ready for my close-up.

I got that sick feeling when I first heard about this trend a while back. Point a camera at me, and I become the deer in the headlights. How about you?

sony-handycamIf you are someone who LUVS being on camera, can stay on topic, keep up the “energy,” yet not over-act, the video resume could be helpful, depending on the line of work you are pursuing.

I found a link today to a blog called “unemploymentality” that has three video resumes (two funny and obviously jokes, one pretty slow and boring and maybe real?) Also, the Web site includes some brutal humor, so be warned. I think we’re all grown ups, though (right?)  I think we can all use a good laugh, too.

michael-cera_junoMy recommendation would be to watch the first one (by Michael Spafferty), and after you recover from laughing at his audacity, then scroll down and watch the third one (by Michael Cera; yes that Michael Cera, from Juno). Those two video resumes are intended to be humorous, but you still get the idea of what might be included in a real one. Then scroll back up and watch the one in the middle, which is nearly a copy of Michael Cera’s, but with the energy just not there. I can’t tell if that guy in the middle one is serious or not. It’s not original content, for sure; it’s pretty lackluster in execution, yet I couldn’t look away. I kept waiting for the punch line or something. It’s a good example of how one of these can be a liability vs. an asset in a job search.

couldn't resist ... .

couldn't resist ... .

I won’t be doing a video resume, myself. I think I’m better “in the moment” than I would be “canned” like this. I think for me it would be a disaster. My belief is that a resume isn’t going to get anyone a job, anyway. I’m a writer (and a talker), so I will stick with written resumes and phone calls and networking to get my foot in the door.

desktop_clutter_cluttered_desk_paper_stack_mess1Here’s why I say a resume isn’t going to get anyone a job:  The first step for anyone on the hiring side of the desk is to reduce the pile of resumes received for the job. So a resume is a device used to screen out most applicants and get a manageable pile. I always put just enough on my resume relative to skills & accomplishments for that job to make the person want to talk to me and get more details about my background. The resume has to be a “teaser,” in a way. A less detailed resume as a first step is a great example of where “less is more,” if done correctly.

You really never know what someone’s looking for until you talk to her/him, so be discrete with the info you put on your resume, and make your goal to get the person doing the interviewing to call you, so at least you have an opportunity to establish a rapport, which is the first step in any sales situation.

You can decide if a video resume would be right for you, and either way you go, you will at least now know what it’s all about, if you didn’t before. I will look forward to going back occasionally to read more on unemploymentality. Here’s your > LINK < .

Image of Fake Vomit from worldslargestgiftshop.com
Image of Sony HandyCam from gadgetarena.com
Image of Michael Cera/Juno from fanpop.com
Image of Gloria Swanson all over the Web, copyright unknown (will credit if contacted)
Image of cluttered desk copyright not found (will credit if contacted)