twitter-logo

 

 

I’ve tied my Twitter account and this blog together, and I’m still trying to figure out how this will work. Sometimes the learning curve on these things turns into a learning curlicue, doesn’t it?

Yesterday, my sidebar here still said “no response from Twitter.” So I did some investigating, and I found that one of my Twitter settings was in conflict with being able to send my “tweets” to WordPress blogs (like this one.) So, I changed the setting on Twitter, deleted the first “tweet” there, posted a second 140 character update to Twitter to answer that burning question, “What are you doing?,” and Twitter replied that there were too many “tweets,” their network was overloaded and I should try again later.

Lovely … .

I gave Twitter a minute, tried again, and my “tweet” went out, according to Twitter.  I jumped to check my sidebar here, and I saw that the “tweet” had made its way to my blog!

twitter-press-bird2Lovely!

Today I posted a “tweet” the exact same way, with the exact same settings, and I don’t see it on my blog.

Love-ly.

Taiwan-style beef noodle soup

Taiwan-style beef noodle soup

So, I don’t know why it’s not showing up on my  blog today, but I have run out of time to deal with it right now. It’s my last day at home this week according to my schedule of long weekends on semi-furlough (four days off/three days on), and I’ve got some things to get done before my “work week” starts tomorrow. Plus, I’m meeting some friends for Taiwan style Chinese food at 5:00 or so, which means I have to shower and pretty-up. All of that cuts down on time I can spend messing with Twitter & the blog today. Also, I know a lot of visitors are ‘visual’ types and hate to see a screen full of type, but it takes time to find good graphics. Sorry, but you’ll have to make do today with these few.

A good take-away for anyone who is baffled, generally, by some of the technology (like Twitter, blogging, etc.), but would like to try it is that you don’t really have to know a lot about what you’re doing to jump into the techno-pool. Most of the time, I don’t know what I’m doing when I start, and I learn as I go.

The general guidelines I use are:

(1) make sure you’re on the Web site of an authentic and trusted service provider, meaning check it out;

(2) keep notes, if you need to do that to remember what you’ve done that worked, or didn’t work, as you’re setting up your new account, learning to use it, etc.;

Kensington 2GB thumb drive

Kensington 2GB thumb drive

(3) get yourself set up for free on RoboForm, or RoboForm2Go + thumb drive, so you keep your usernames and account passwords safe (otherwise you have to write them down and carry them with you, which is not smart, and once you set up more than a dozen accounts, who wants to have to refer to a piece of paper to find usernames & passwords?!?);

(4) if you run into something you’re not understanding, refer to the FAQs and Help files before you fire off a question via the online Help e-mail, or post it to a Forum, because your questions are not unique, others having blazed the trail before you surely had the same questions when setting up their own accounts, and you will learn more about your account and its functions by diving into the FAQs & Help files, and so you will end up using it more effectively;

angry_beavers2(5) if you do post to a Forum, or make a comment on a blog, etc., remember that you are likely posting to a “listserve,” and that your comments will be going out to everyone else who reads the Forum or blog, so no matter how frustrated you are by the time you ask for help, don’t rant about the stupid instructions online, don’t impune the character of those behind the scenes, etc., because it’s poor netiquette. Try to behave as if your parents, grandparents and God are watching you. Others will pounce on you in return if you don’t behave that way, you won’t like it, and you will get help a lot more quickly if you are nice.

Editor’s note: If you see my tweet from today, please post a comment. That will help me figure out if the problem is only with my set-up and connection, here, on my laptop, or if it’s a system-wide thing. Thanks!

Image of beef noodle soup from Wikipedia
Image of Angry Beavers from Nichelodeon via the Web

