For blog newbies, I want to go over a few things to make you feel comfortable about posting a comment here.

Venetian Mask

Venetian Mask

First, if you visit and like or don’t like something you see, or have news you’d like me to post, please do leave a comment. I have this set up so that your comment goes through my personal filter, meaning I have to approve each comment before it hits the blog, and, therefore, I can accommodate a request for not displaying your name, if you want to mask your identity, or whatever is your need

Your e-mail address will be in your comment, but visible only to me, unless and until I approve it for the blog. Of course I honor all requests for anonymous posting, and sometimes I even remove personal info that the person may think is just in an e-mail to me, and then I approve the rest of the comment. So, for your safety, I will edit that stuff out.

I filter the comments, because (1) I get tons of spam, which I just delete (if you want to “increase your manhood” or any of those kinds of things, by how you’re in the know, and don’t need me to post that here); (2) I do have a few rules, posted on the About page, and I wanted to be sure I have some editorial control over inappropriately snarly comments. Interestingly, I haven’t had one inappropriately snarly comment. I’m impressed by that.

I’m especially intrigued and gratified by the number of visitors I’ve had to this site, since it first went live on February 28, 2009. I can track unique “hits” a couple of ways, one of which is the ClustrMap in the my sidebar. Check that out, if you haven’t done that yet. Click on it, and you can see every country where I’ve had readers and the number of hits from unique readers (not repeat hits from the same readers). Here are today’s stats, which measure from February 28 to this morning at midnight:

United States (US) 324
Australia (AU) 3
France (FR) 2
Canada (CA) 2
Germany (DE) 2
India (IN) 2
Israel (IL) 2
Brazil (BR) 1
Ireland (IE) 1
United Kingdom (GB) 1
Sweden (SE) 1
Italy (IT) 1
Indonesia (ID) 1
Philippines (PH) 1
Botswana (BW) 1
Singapore (SG) 1
Bulgaria (BG) 1
United Arab Emirates (AE) 1

Editor’s note: Venetian mask image from a Google image search hit on an article titled “The History Of The Venetian Mask, By: Steve Gink.”  Copyright of image, unknown.

