Is nothing in St. Louis sacred?

Several news outlets, including the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, announced last week that the “Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod Seeks to Sell KFUO-FM.”

KFUO-FM, known as “Classic 99,” is the only classical music station in St. Louis. It has been owned by the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod for 61 years.

Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven

It also carries a popular jazz program by a local jazz expert. The programming of both the classical and the jazz music would be sorely missed and leave a gaping hole in the St. Louis cultural fabric.

Why do I say that? 

Because unless the new buyer is not for profit, it’s unlikely that a new buyer would continue the current programming. There’s much more money to be made in programming right-wing talk radio, left-wing talk radio, not to mention musical formats like pop, rock, country, hip-hop, soul, neo-soul, urban contemporary, indie and others that may be kindly called “less intellectual.” I’m not putting them down. I listen to all of the above, but let’s not confuse 22-k gold with sterling silver or coin silver or silver plate.

Here is a > LINK < to the story by the Post-Dispatch classical music critic Sarah Bryan Miller from 3/28/09 on the possible sale.

Don Wolff

Don Wolff

Here is a > LINK <  to another story about the loss of programming if the sale goes through on a Web site called All About Jazz. It is lamenting the possible (likely?) sale of the station and the loss of the weekly, hour-long jazz program KFUO-FM also has carried for the last year, called “I Love Jazz,” and hosted by St. Louis jazz expert Don Wolff.

The program had a long run on another station before it was dropped, and after seven months off the air, it was picked up by KFUO.

To round out my post, here is a > LINK < to Don Wolff’s Web page, which has a streaming broadcast that you may enjoy.

Editor’s note: The other morning on my drive to the Hanley Park + Ride lot, I’d had my fill of news coverage on the dismal state of the economy on one station I generally love, and I turned to KFUO-FM, another love. It was April 1, i.e., April Fool’s Day, and the morning host on KFUO-FM was playing music by Portsmouth Sinfonia, a musical invention by Brian Eno and Michael Nyman that they billed as the World’s Worst Orchestra. Here’s a > LINK < to a story about it from a few years back that is totally worth your time.

I’m a little slow in the morning, and it took me a few miles to really start to question (1) why I was hearing Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy in the spring time, and (2) why I wasn’t hearing the sharps and flats being played on several notes where they should have been played.  As it turned out, this was a joke in the spirit of the day by the host.

Brian Eno, 2006

Brian Eno, 2006

I’m a big Brian Eno fan, and I especially love his electronic “ambient music,” to which I listen frequently. It’s described on Wikipedia as “low-volume music designed to modify one’s perception of a surrounding environment.” It helps me focus, when I’m working on something where I don’t want to be distracted from the task at hand.

Brian Peter George St. John le Baptiste de la Salle Eno is an English musician, who began his career as a member of Roxy Music.

It would be so wrong of me to tease you with this music information and leave you hanging, so here is the > LINK <  to the Wikipedia page on Brian.

If you decide to investigate his ambient music, start with Ambient 1: Music for Airports and Ambient 2: The Plateaux of Mirror. All of his music is on amazon.com.

