Copy writer in thought

Copy writer in thought

I am a copy writer. I wish I had a $1 for every time I’ve worked on an ad, or a brochure, or some marketing materials where my succinct, clever copy was slashed and burned with the comment, “Well … nobody’s gonna want to read that … .” It seems that for many people the “visual” is the message.

Graphic designer at large

Graphic designer at large

It took me a long time to understand and accept that some people primarily get their information from pictures. I can say now, “That’s okay,” and mean it.

In my perfect work, the visual (and auditory) learners would return the favor and say that they realize a lot of people, in fact, do get their information primarily from the written word.

I have two resources to share that might just bring the competing sides together. One is a book. The other is a Web site (blog.)

The book is called Back of the Napkin: Solving Problems and Selling Ideas with Pictures. Reading that book (and several years of psychotherapy) changed my life.

The blog is called Copyblogger: Why Copywriting is the Key to Successful Online Marketing.

Maybe there is hope for peace, love and understanding between the designers and the copy writers. Or, as one of my co-workers here says,

Peace! Love! Marketing!

PEACE

PEACE

Copy writer image by Orwellsvision on Flickr.com
Typographic Style image from GilesBowkett.com
Peace symbol from allposters.com

